i think most of the industry uses synthetic remnet.
Comment on Why Should I...
JelleWho@lemmy.world 1 month ago
Fun fact, cheese is not always vegetarian. It can (quite often) contain animal rennet (from the inside of a young cow stomage, the cow needs to die for this)
IAmNorRealTakeYourMeds@lemmy.world 1 month ago
JelleWho@lemmy.world 1 month ago
As a person who check all cheese in the supermarket for this. The current state (EU/NL) is almost 60%, 60% of the cheese in our supermarket is without murdering baby cows. Which I up from last year, and it has been trending up for a while.
I have no clue how other countries are doing, my guess us worse. Some france people still label ‘Fish’ as ‘Vegan’
this_jury_is_hung@lemmy.world 1 month ago
That number moves much closer to 0% if you start counting the baby cows killed in order to keep their mothers perpetually lactating, rather than just those whose bodies were used as a direct ingredient.
A cow will be impregnated 6-8 times during her life on a typical dairy farm, before she is killed af half her natural lifespan to be replaced by a younger cow. One of those baby cows will be raised as that replacement cow, the rest will be killed shortly after birth since.
Killing baby cows is an inherent part of cow-milk production.
hans@feddit.org 1 month ago
most dairy calves are brought to full weight before slaughter.
parlaptie@feddit.org 1 month ago
That would be huge news if true but it doesn’t sound like you have a source
IAmNorRealTakeYourMeds@lemmy.world 1 month ago
I’m not bringing any moral value, just the note that synthetic remnet is cheaper then real one, another commenter said that it’s about 60%,i thought it would be much more.
Hawk@lemmy.dbzer0.com 1 month ago
I think many French protected cheeses are not allowed to, but I’m not sure about that
ulterno@programming.dev 1 month ago
Usage of animal rennet requires disclosure on the packaging, in my country, thanks to a majority of religions being against meat and stuff.
sanzky@lemmy.world 1 month ago
I would really like to be the case more often. I’m a cheese eating vegetarian and I have to look on the ingredients every time I buy cheese. Some brands will even switch from animal to microbial rennet and viceversa within the same product without warning.
yermaw@sh.itjust.works 1 month ago
What fresh hell is this?
ThunderComplex@lemmy.today 1 month ago
Unless, of course, we’re talking about the German Leberkäse (liver cheese), which, naturally, isn’t cheese and doesn’t contain liver.