It can also mean that a mod removed the post. There was a dust-up in one of the self hosting communities a while back, when people were complaining about users deleting their “I’m having a weird issue with this setup, any tips” types of posts after getting answers. People were even talking about rules to ban repeat offenders.
Turns out, a mod was deleting the posts and citing a “must be about self hosting” rule to say that they should be posted in a tech support community instead. But since the mod wasn’t active 24/7, the posts were often deleted after they had already been answered.
dual_sport_dork@lemmy.world 5 days ago
Or get sick of the avalanche of replies in their inbox, since you can’t turn off notifications for responses to a post or comment unlike on reddit. The only way to make it stop is to delete whatever it was.
Also I’m pretty sure by default if a user deletes their Lemmy account most clients also automatically delete all of their posts and comments. If a user gets fed up with us or decides the Fediverse is not for them, when they take their ball and go home that’s really what happens.
DarkCloud@lemmy.world 5 days ago
I found turning off notifications completely really improved my lemmy experience. I’ll check them and clear them periodically in my own time.
dual_sport_dork@lemmy.world 5 days ago
It doesn’t help either that the default web UI doesn’t actually clear off your notification bell even if you’re marked all replies as read until you force refresh the page. That’s kind of annoying.
Other interfaces like Alexandrite and I presume Photon do it a little better.
unwarlikeExtortion@lemmy.ml 5 days ago
Isn’t that the Tesseract from the recent trama?
Dookieman12@piefed.social 5 days ago
Yeah, that too. I block the notification element with my adblocker
amio@lemmy.world 5 days ago
I have to admit… I kinda get that sometimes. Maybe I’ll spin up a new user just to test if that’s it